Livonia Capital Vote information with a school building entrance and voters arriving
News

Livonia Capital Vote: $45.17M School Plan

The Livonia Capital Vote is scheduled for Tuesday, December 8, 2026, with district voters set to decide whether to authorize a $45.17 million 2026 Capital Improvement Project for Livonia Central School District in New York. Voting is scheduled from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. at Livonia Middle/High School, according to the district’s official notice on the proposed capital project Livonia Central School District notice.

Livonia Capital Vote Date, Place, And Scope

The Board of Education approved placing the capital improvement proposal before voters on December 8, 2026. This is a single-purpose referendum on a defined facilities plan, not the annual school budget vote and not a regular Board of Education election. The question before voters is whether the district may move ahead with the listed capital work and the related financing plan.

The polling location named by the district is Livonia Middle/High School. The hours, 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., give residents a 12-hour voting window. Residents who plan to vote should rely on district communications for any eligibility details, ballot wording, or changes, since the research available here does not include the full legal notice or absentee voting instructions.

What The Livonia Capital Vote Authorizes

The proposal covers a two-building plan for the Elementary School and the Middle/High School. The project includes both instructional space changes and building system work. For residents, that means the proposal is not limited to one classroom wing, one athletic area, or one maintenance item. The scope described by the district reaches arts spaces, food service areas, auditorium space, gym facilities, hallways, support areas, roofing, and HVAC.

Because the vote is framed as a capital authorization, approval would allow the district to proceed with the project as presented through its capital planning process. The available research does not provide a construction start date, bid schedule, contractor list, or completion date. Those details would typically come later through district project communications, board actions, and any required procurement steps.

Proposed School Building Work

The district’s project description identifies upgrades to art, music, and chorus spaces. These are instructional areas used for student programs, and the proposal places them within a larger facilities package rather than treating them as stand-alone improvements. The plan also includes improvements to hallway areas and instructional or support spaces, which suggests the work is aimed at both program areas and daily building function.

Elementary School And Middle/High School Work

At the Elementary School, the proposed work includes a new gymnasium. The research does not specify the planned size, location, seating capacity, or whether the space would replace or supplement existing physical education space. Residents who want those details should look for the newsletter, videos, FAQs, or future board materials that the district said would be distributed beginning November 16, 2026.

At the Middle/High School, the project includes auditorium work. The available district summary does not list the exact auditorium improvements, such as seating, lighting, sound systems, finishes, or accessibility-related updates. The plan also includes kitchen and cafeteria improvements in both the elementary and middle/high buildings. That detail matters because food service spaces are shared by many students each school day, and improvements there may affect building logistics during any future construction period.

Infrastructure Work In The Plan

The proposal includes major infrastructure work, including roofing and HVAC. These items are often less visible than new program spaces, but they can be central to long-term building maintenance and operating conditions. The research does not state which roof sections or HVAC systems would be replaced, repaired, or upgraded, so residents should avoid assuming the project covers every roof or mechanical system in both buildings unless the district later confirms that level of detail.

The project was developed on the recommendation of the District’s Facilities Planning Committee. That is the planning body named in the district’s announcement. The research does not list committee members, meeting dates, engineering reports, or condition assessments, so the public record available here should be read as a project summary rather than a full technical report.

Financing, Tax Levy, And Voter Authorization

The district says the project has been structured to have no additional impact on the tax levy, meaning it should not increase the rate local taxpayers pay. That statement is a key point for residents reviewing the Livonia Capital Vote, but it should be read carefully: the district is describing the expected levy impact of the financing plan, not saying that the project itself has no cost.

The financing plan described in the research includes district reserves and debt service funds for the local share. The district also expects the majority of funding to come from State Building Aid. The available materials do not provide the exact dollar amount expected from each funding source, the aid ratio, the timing of reimbursements, or the final debt schedule. Those details can affect how residents interpret the financing plan, so the district’s coming FAQs may be especially relevant for taxpayers who want to review assumptions behind the “no additional impact” statement.

A capital referendum is different from routine purchasing or agency administration. Public agency listings, including Civic IQ’s Livonia Central School District profile, help identify the district as a public agency, but the December 8 item is a voter question tied to this specific capital plan. Residents should separate it from regular budget votes, board elections, procurement notices, or day-to-day district operations. A related site in the same network, County Watchers, offers additional civic coverage and insights.

Public Information And Next Steps

Community members seated at a school information meeting

The district said community engagement resources are expected to begin going out on November 16, 2026. Those materials are expected to include a newsletter, videos, and FAQs about the project’s scope, financing, and timeline. For residents, that date is the next known public information point before the December 8 vote.

Those materials should help answer practical questions that are not included in the shorter project summary. Examples include which spaces would be renovated first, how construction might be phased around school operations, whether summer work is expected, and how the district plans to communicate disruptions to families. The research provided does not answer those points, so they should be treated as open questions until the district releases more information.

For residents in Michigan who follow school facility votes as a civic issue, this proposal also offers a reminder to check jurisdiction closely: this Livonia Central School District item concerns New York, not the City of Livonia in Michigan.

Questions Residents May Want Answered

  • What is the full ballot wording for the December 8, 2026 referendum?
  • How much of the $45.17 million is expected to be covered by State Building Aid?
  • Which reserves and debt service funds would be used for the local share?
  • What construction timeline is expected for the Elementary School and Middle/High School work?
  • How would the district manage school-day access, cafeteria service, and student movement during construction?

Resident Questions Before The Livonia Capital Vote

The central civic question is whether voters want to authorize the district’s proposed $45.17 million building plan under the financing structure described by the Board of Education and district administration. The Livonia Capital Vote is not a broad judgment on every district operation. It is a decision on a specific package of school facility improvements, with the district stating that reserves, debt service funds, and State Building Aid are expected to support the plan without an added tax levy impact.

Between October 8, 2026 and the December 8, 2026 vote, residents should watch for the district’s planned information materials beginning November 16, 2026. The most useful items will be those that put numbers, timelines, and building impacts next to the project list. Until those details are released, the confirmed facts are the vote date, polling hours, location, total project amount, two-building scope, major categories of work, stated levy impact, and funding sources identified by the district.

Comments Off on Livonia Capital Vote: $45.17M School Plan